Uber will let parents peek through a driver's selfie camera when teens are taking a trip - Engadget

Uber will only access recordings to review safety reports. Uber is deploying an interesting new feature related to teen accounts. Rather than FaceTiming a teen while they're taking a trip, parents and guardians will be able to view a live video feed from the selfie camera on the driver's phone and get a broader look inside the vehicle. Uber says the aim is to help give parents some piece of mind. When a teen is taking a trip, their designated guardian will receive a push notification if the live feed is available. The driver may be prompted to mount their phone and make sure it has a clear view of the back seat. The parent or guardian can start watching with a tap, and the teen and driver will both be notified. The feed ends when the trip does. Uber says that only a parent or guardian whose account is linked to the teen's will be able to view the stream. Neither the teen, parent or driver will be able to access a recording of the video after the trip is completed. Uber will store an encrypted recording, which is automatically deleted after 14 days unless a safety report is submitted. The company says it can only use a decryption key to access a recording if it needs to look into an
Source: For the complete article, please visit the original source link below.

